Travel Plan – Discover Glan Malapatan Alabel Sarangani

Target Date: September 22-23, 2012

Plane Route: Manila – General Santos City – Manila

Impression:

When I bought the plane ticket to General Santos City, my thought was just to roam around the city and have a food trip. I have been to Gen San once, way back 2006 during my attendance to the PICHE Convention. My recall for Gen San is a good one because I remember cheap fruits during those time.

Safety & Security – I can also recall last 2006, that when I walk around the city, I would always see a military man in almost every intersection. Although I feel safe there, seeing the military makes me want to think twice about safety and security there. And now, here I am planning about exploring Sarangani Province!

Very Good Tourism Potential – I have been hearing Gumasa Beach in Glan, Sarangani. Thanks to the “Travel Blogger” – band wagon because you can now read over the internet about the how-to-get-there and how-much stuff. And when I chanced upon the Sarangani Province Website, I was really impressed about the tourism potential of this place. Not only in Glan you can see a tour destination, but also there are tour spots in almost all of its Municipalities. That is why I opted to include Alabel & Malapatan in my tour plan. I would also love to check Maasin, Kiamba & Maitum on my next visit to Gen San. Well, now I have a reason to go back Gen San.

I Hope Others Will Follow – I just do hope that others who will read this blog do try visit Sarangani via General Santos City Airport. This would really be a very good travel destination.

A Downside Though – In this planning, I noticed that it is quite expensive to transfer from Gen San Airport to Gen San Downtown. P150/person for the one-way shuttle van. The airport is in a city, and not a remote area like in Busuanga Airport (where airport transfer is P150 also). How come it is that expensive? I wonder how the employees of the airport and airline commute daily. There was a P50 airport multicab, but as I read there are still issues on this. That is why I marked this as my Travel Challenge.

The Plan:

Upon arrival, take the airport transfer travel challenge to reach downtown cheaply. Then proceed to the van terminal at KCC for Glan. Upon reaching Glan town, take a habal-habal or tricycle to Gumasa Beach. Check out the public beach. Enter any of the resort there to leave things and for shower purposes. Snorkel and Beach. Then go back to Glan town. Then going back to Gen San, stop over and check out the 2 towns – Alabel and Malapatan.

Upon returning to Gen San, this would be the time to check-in lodging. Refresh and food trip!

The following day, since our flight is early, we have no choice but to take the fastest way in getting back to Gen San Airport – the taxi.

How To? How Much?